Random Rants & News

microsoft, seattle, hamburg, gonzaga university

Passion – Drive – Initiative

leave a comment »

Tonight I helped organize an event here at Gonzaga University to promote the GAMP program.  Kevin Pratt, the Director of GAMP, has built this amazing service offered to students at GU over the past years. GAMP stands for Gonzaga Alumni Mentoring Program.  Over 2200 former graduates of the University are stored in a database available to students in the program.  In a nutshell “students are matched with mentors who share similar career fields, geographic locations, or other interests. The primary goal of the program is to establish a relationship between the mentee and mentor that facilitates better career decision making and the development of a network that can result in increased job opportunities.”  (Kevin Pratt, GAMP Director)  

During my freshman and sophomore years at Gonzaga University I have attended many of the events offered by GAMP, which include monthly brown-bag luncheons with local business leaders, networking socials, and other speaker events.  I currently have three GAMP mentors myself and find them a great resource for learning more about career development, networking, and interviewing skills.  Actually one of my mentors at MS was indispensable in speaking on my behalf with recruiters and improving my interview skills before my MS interview. 

Over the course of this school year I have made an effort to help Kevin promote the program around campus.  I believe that my participation in GAMP and especially my speaking at GAMP informational events has a value to students because it is coming from one of their peers.  My career is extremely important to me and I enjoy speaking to my peers about the importance of internship, networking, and career development.  Tonight’s presentation was my fifth speaking engagement and over 75 students attended.  Besides the perceived value of spreading the word about GAMP to other students these events have further improved my public speaking and presentation skills. (I actually have been using Office 2007 Beta 2 and students are always excited to see the new look asking questions about its final release.)   

In addition to helping me with my presentation techniques my commitments to speak with fellow students have enabled me to crystallize my own planes for the future more clearly.  I have been meeting with students following my presentations and they have been quizzing me on what I have done in the past 2 ½ years to get to where I am now.  (Kevin jokes about me already being a mentor today.) I have actually started telling students about my three tiered approach to career development and success:  

1) Passion 2) Drive and 3) Initiative. 

It has been a great year so far and I am excited to be here.  Besides helping out with the GAMP program, I have committed myself to an additional major concentration in Finance.  I will now, once again, have to take overload credits to finish on time, but I believe that an understanding of Finance will be an invaluable skill. This additional major adds to my previously declared majors in International Business and Marketing, as well as my minor in International Studies: Asian Studies. 

Happy Thursday, 

Markus  

Written by markusw

November 8, 2006 at 11:58 pm

Leave a Reply

