Random Rants & News

microsoft, seattle, hamburg, gonzaga university

November wrap-up

leave a comment »

Hi,

I wanted to take this opportunity to briefly wrap up the month of November before I fly to Seattle for Thanksgiving.  I have had a lot to do in the past month, but also made some great progress academically as well as in my various projects.  

I got an email last week from MS announcing that final decision will be made in regard to benefits and compensation for next year’s interns. I was told to expect a formal offer mid-week.  I also lined up an informational interview with Next IT, a local start-up company that develops artificial intelligence technologies for self-service applications.  A great demo of their work is on Gonzaga University’s webpage (http://askspike.gonzaga.edu/).  The AI application is an interactive “chat” that allows people to ask natural language questions and gives accurate answers.

I also finalized my majors and minors this past week and am happy to announce that I will now officially triple major in International Business, Finance, and Marketing.  Besides that I will also graduate with a minor in International Studies: Asian Studies.  I had previously considered making the move to a Finance concentration, but was finally able to do so last week.  Gonzaga University offers a Portfolio Management class that stretches over three semesters.  The junior standing students, for this limited class, are handpicked by the Dean of the Business School.  Last week I learned that I was accepted to the class, which will enable me to earn additional finance credits over the next three.  These additional credits will allow me to add a finance concentration, while still graduating in May 2008.  I think that a background and study of finance is incredibly important and I am excited to be given the opportunity.

After this busy and exciting month I am looking forward to a relaxing long weekend in Seattle.  I hope that all of you have a wonderful and relaxing holiday with your family and friends.

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Written by markusw

November 20, 2006 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

