Random Rants & News

microsoft, seattle, hamburg, gonzaga university

… Deutschland …

leave a comment »

I am back home again.  It is great to be in my own room, with my family.  I can’t believe it has been over 7 months since I was home last. Anyhow, it seems like nothing changed much.  Oh, hold on, there is one new development! By American standards Hamburg can now be officially recognized as a town: We have have Starbucks. What a joy I don’t even have to stop drinking my favorite Latte while at home.  The only thing this place is still lacking is a place with really good steaks and huge burgers.  I guess no German town will ever be perfect😉

On a different note, getting home was strenuous as usual. This time around it took me about 26 hours to get here.  On top of the normal flying time, I had an unusually long layover in Denver (6 hours), the Lufthansa flight out of Denver had some gear trouble after takeoff and then couldn’t even land in Frankfurt on schedule because of fog and ground-control back-ups.  We finally got to the gate about 1 1/2 hours late, which (should have) cut my layover in Frankfurt to a bare minimum, but my flight to Hamburg was delayed for 4 hours.  All in all, I left Spokane at 4:30am (PST) on Friday and didn’t get home until 7pm (CET) on Saturday.

I will keep posting over break, making this blog a global affair! Hope you are all doing well. Happy “Dritter Advent”

Markus

Written by markusw

December 17, 2006 at 8:03 am

Posted in News/Blogging

Leave a Reply

