Random Rants & News

microsoft, seattle, hamburg, gonzaga university

Traveling – oh the weather

leave a comment »

It has been a while since I have last blogged. My semester break was very relaxing and enjoyable. I returned to the States Thursday and the trip was strenuous to say the least.
I left Hamburg very early in the morning with stops in Frankfurt, Denver, Spokane, to Seattle.
Although I like traveling, I have to admit that 11 hours in a crammed seat with little legroom is no fun. On top of that I was stuck in Denver for three hours because of snow in Spokane, WA. After another 2:20 h on a United flight to Spokane I was finally approaching the end of my trip – or at least so I thought. My final leg of the day’s travel was from Spokane to Seattle, WA on Alaska Air, but due to the blizzard conditions on the west side (blizzard meaning anything over 1 1/2 inches of snow to “real” snowfall) I was forced to wait in the Spokane airport for over 4 hours.
It was not until 1:30 am that I arrived in Seatttle-Tacoma airport. Getting my bags, renting a car, and driving to northern Seattle “only” took me a little over 30 minutes.
I-5 turned out to be covered with a trace of snow and still many cars where creeping along at less than 40mph.

I finally arrived at 2 am after over 27 hours of traveling.

Happily back in the States, yet a little exhausted and jet-lagged,

Markus

Written by markusw

January 12, 2007 at 1:39 pm

Posted in Hamburg, Random

Leave a Reply

