Random Rants & News

microsoft, seattle, hamburg, gonzaga university

Portfolio Management

leave a comment »

I thought I would briefly post about my (by far) best class this semester. I have mentioned it several times before, but never in great detail. The class is called Portfolio Management and it is taught my Clarence Barnes, the Dean of the School of Business. There are only about 15 people in the class, all of which were handpicked by him. The class, in the first semester, teaches the basics and theories that go into Portfolio Management and Investment. Each chapter is “taught” by one of the students. I volunteered to teach the first chapter. Although it was a lot of work and a little unnerving, I am glad I raised my hand to do the first presentation for several reasons: 1) now I am done with the class (besides listening to the other presentations) and 2) I got the brownie-points from the Dean.

Overall, from what I can tell so far, the class is going to be great. In the first semester we are covering pretty much the entire textbook, in the second semester we are going to pick stocks for our team portfolios to invest in. The business school has three $50,000 accounts available to the three teams in the class. Any money that we earn over the course of the semester will go towards scholarships for Business School students.

I love that the class is more-or-less student-directed, but at the same time (through Dean Barnes’ contacts) we have the opportunity of meeting with many great business leaders from the financial services industry.

I will certainly keep all of you posted on how the class continues…

Written by markusw

January 26, 2007 at 9:03 pm

Leave a Reply

