Random Rants & News

microsoft, seattle, hamburg, gonzaga university

My Mac is running Vista!

with 4 comments

Thanks to my former office-mate at Microsoft and good friend David Sayed, I received Microsoft Vista Ultimate and Office 2007 Professional today. I was VERY excited to have finally gotten my fingers on the brand new Microsoft OS and immediately installed it on my MacBook.

I am running the beta RC2 build 3150 of Parallels and the installation process was nice and quick. To my own and Chris’ astonishment the installation on my MacBook was much faster compared to his HP notebook (5500dv series).
Right now, Vista is running smoothly with only a few hiccups here and there. The beta currently does not support Aero and I have to admit that I am a little disappointed about that. Additionally, the beta also does not support the 64-bit version of Vista, but according to the Parallels’ team 64-bit support is planned for a future release.

Fun Fact: I am actually writing this blog entry running Vista and honestly, the possibilities seem endless right now. I am using Internet Explorer 7 to write in my blog, browsing the Parallel’s user manuals in Safari, and admiring the features, incl. weather reports, slideshow, calendar, and multiple clocks on the Windows Side bar.  Note: all at the same time!!!

parallels-picture-2.png
screenshot.jpg
parallels-picture.png

“WOW”

Written by markusw

February 7, 2007 at 10:46 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Markus! So glad to have you back at Microsoft this summer! Excellent blog, btw.
    -Janelle Godfrey

    Janelle Godfrey

    February 8, 2007 at 10:10 am

  2. Hello Janelle!!
    Great to hear from you. Thank you for the comment. I am trying hard to blog more often, but I think having Vista now will give me some opportunity.
    Are you still with National Intern Recruiting? How is that going?
    Cheers,
    Markus

    Markus Weickenmeier

    February 8, 2007 at 10:26 am

  3. OK, let me repeat that… Sometimes I can’t help but surrender to my watery danger Do you want a fresh joke from net? How can you tell if there is an elephant in the fridge? The door won’t shut!

    FeargoHeape

    October 29, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  4. thankyou

    sampan

    November 18, 2008 at 7:05 am


Leave a Reply

