Random Rants & News

microsoft, seattle, hamburg, gonzaga university

Washington, DC – Part 1

leave a comment »

I just arrived in Washington, DC for the Campus Technology Summit (Microsoft is a platinum sponsor.)  Traveling here was a pain.  I left Seattle early this morning and took the Alaska Airlines non-stop into CD National – Reagan.  The flight was delayed due to a traffic backup and bad weather in DC, but the actually frustrating part of the journey where the people sitting around me on the plane.  They struck me as unusually loud and squirmy.  I guess this is the negative side to booking air travel in a large corporation – place tickets are purchased so late, the middle seat is often the only option available.

Anyway, I made it DC finally and got a cab to my hotel downtown (Hotel Monaco – rooms are small but very comfortable and nicely decorated).  My first learning experience in DC: Cabs don’t take debit/credit cards.  Ergo, my driver was forced to circle the hotel in search of an ATM.  Luckily, DC works on a cab zone system, so the fare remained the same, plus my tip probably made up for the extra five minutes.

After grabbing some dinner, I am now in the hotel working on my product demonstration PowerPoint and taking advantage of the hotel’s complimentary, but very slow and choppy, wireless.😉

Hope you are having a great Sunday evening and I will keep you all posted on how things go at the event.    

Written by markusw

July 29, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Leave a Reply

